How to love…

So John and I are reading “Crazy Love” by Francis Chan.

About 5 weeks ago, John decided we needed to start doing a study together again. When he suggested this, I was 100% in. 🙂 We now meet every Thursday after I get off of work. Usually we meet at Starbucks, get coffee, and sit to talk for hours. We discuss the book and our thoughts. We’ve been doing this every week now, since he suggested it, and it is amazing. I praise God for having a husband who is seeking Christ and is determined to be a spiritual leader.

Anyhow, as I have been preparing for this week’s meeting, I have been thinking more and more about how to love. I feel that I really try to love how Christ calls us to love, but I definitely fail at times.

The Bible tells us in 1 Corinthians 13 that the greatest of faith, hope, and love, is love. In his book, Francis Chan discusses this. He suggests that, to love how God calls us to love, we should consider what the Bible tells us about what love is. He suggests that one should put their name in for the word love, ie:

NICOLE is patient, NICOLE is kind. NICOLE does not envy, NICOLE does not boast, NICOLE is not proud. 5NICOLE is not rude, NICOLE is not self-seeking, NICOLE is not easily angered, NICOLE keeps no record of wrongs. 6NICOLE does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7NICOLE always protects, NICOLE always trusts, NICOLE always hopes, NICOLE always perseveres.

and then seriously consider whether or not you are actually loving the way God calls you to love! I’m contemplating it seriously. I think we all should contemplate this seriously. Are we loving the way God calls us to love? Even our enemies? Even those who persecute us? I know I’m failing at this, even with my family and my husband. Not all the time of course, but enough that I am convicted to do better. I want to love like God loves. I want to pursue Christ. If we are pursuing and continuously seeking Him, we can learn to love like He loves. We can not love without Him. I need Him. I want to be known for my love of our Savior and for my love of others, including those who are not easy to love.

Long story short. I’m working on my attitude and I am seeking Christ. I know that with Him I can love better.

Always in Him and with love,

These are some “learning to love like God loves” words…

By Nicole

Leave a comment

Filed under Marriage

Leave a Reply

