God has blessed us… again…

We are proud to announce that God has blessed us with the gift of a baby. We found out on February 14th  that we are expecting in October. We went to the doctor the following week to confirm. 🙂 Sure enough, we are pregnant. I was pretty positive before going, because 4 home pregnancy tests can’t all be wrong, but it was good to confirm it and to ask a few questions.

I had been feeling a little “weird” for a few weeks. I thought I might be pregnant, but when I first took a test, it came out negative. I assumed I was just stressed and that was what was causing my fatigue and crying. Every time I would complain about being tired, or any other symptom that might be related to pregnancy, John would say “you’re pregnant!” I just wasn’t sure. I wanted to be, but I also didn’t want to get my hopes up. On the day I was supposed to get my period I took another test and saw a very faint line. I was completely unsure if it was actually a line or if I was just seeing things because I wanted to see a line. 🙂 John couldn’t tell either. The next day I took another test and the line was a bit more clear but still faint. I was pretty sure it meant I was pregnant but I waited another day and took another test. This time, the test was clear and I was sure I was pregnant. 🙂 The funny thing about having a positive test for me was John’s response. He went from saying “you’re pregnant” after everything, to saying “we need to wait to confirm with a doctor, you might not be pregnant.” It cracked me up. He was joking of course, I think he knew we were pregnant, but I think it is still a bit surreal for him. I have to be honest, it is a bit surreal for me too, but I feel the changes.

Our first appointment was just a “congratulations” appointment where they confirmed the pregnancy and took some blood work. On March 9th we went in for a more in-depth appointment and our first ultrasound.

It was amazing to say the least. We saw our little peanut and heard his/her heartbeat. The coolest thing for me was actually SEEING the heart beat. Wow. Our blessing was about 7 weeks along so that puts us due on October 26th.

All I can say is praise God! We are so thankful that He has blessed us with a child and we are looking forward to His plans for our life. I am astonished by how quickly we got pregnant so I know it is God’s work. Some of you may not know this, but we weren’t sure if we would be able to have a baby because of my PCOS, but we knew God was bigger than any medical issue that I had! It is all because of God that we are going to be parents and to Him we give all the glory.

Now we are about 3 months along and we got to hear the baby’s heartbeat again today. I still can’t get over the miracle of it all, and sometimes it doesn’t seem real, but when I hear that fast “woosh-woosh-woosh-woosh” coming from the monitor, I know God is working hard at making little Helmstetler who he/she is going to be. It is the most amazing thing. I am happy to report that Baby Helmstetler has a strong heartbeat and I am doing pretty well. I think I am finally coming out of the first trimester yucky’s. 🙂 (Praise God for that!) I am excited to get back to the gym, having more energy, and getting back to being productive. We go back in 4 weeks for another ultrasound and checkup. Because of some medical concerns, our midwife wants to do more frequent ultrasounds to make sure everything is okay with my cervix. She said there is no need to worry right now, I can continue on normally, she just wants to be safe and monitor things. I’m pretty excited about that because it means we get to see Baby Helmstetler more! We’ll see him/her at 16 weeks, and then again at 20, 24, and 28 weeks. The 20 week ultrasound is when we get to hopefully find out whether Baby Helmstetler is a he or a she! 🙂 John and I will be finding out the sex of our baby, but will be keeping it and the name of Baby Helmstetler a secret. We want it to be a surprise. 🙂

Always in Him and with love,

These are some “newly expecting” words…

By Nicole

1 Comment

Filed under Baby

One response to “God has blessed us… again…

  1. Grandma Hall

    We are so happy for you! Things are going to go great and we can’t wait for the new arrival! We love you both and wish you all the best! God is so good!

Leave a Reply

